What's Happening in the World

Black History Month: Yay or Nay

black-history-month

Black History Month has just begun and of course the annual “why is there no white history month?” has also started. For as long as I can remember people have always questioned Black History month and/or made fun of it. At the time, I thought this was coming from a place of hate, racism, and ignorance. I remember going to school assemblies to discuss Black history month and I would always feel like all the white kids were staring at me and watching my every action. I felt like I was the show. Once I got to high school, the annual question continued, but the assemblies began to cease. At the time I took it personal that my school stopped having school assemblies honoring my culture; I felt like they stole something from me.
As this year’s Black History month commences I begin to wonder about the meaning and importance of Black History Month. Black History month started in 1926 when Carter G. Woodson, a Black Historian, created Negro History Week, and as time progressed it was eventually expanded into Black History month. The premise behind the month is wonderful; it is to honor African-Americans who have made great strides in history. It is also to teach society about black culture and remind us of the rich culture that we have brought to the world. I think it is important for everyone to understand black culture and the struggles that blacks have gone through and the major ideas that we have given to the world.
Here is the dilemma: is it fair to cram all of Black culture into one month? Black culture can be found in all facets of life. Instead of teachers waiting till February to teach about black culture they should reference it in their normal teachings. Black History month has served a purpose for so many years, but has its purpose loss value. Do you think its time to begin incorporating black history into daily life instead of condensing it into one month?

Leave a Reply

